My favorite pieces of career advice

tulip field-7320

Hello! My blogging friend Jenny recently tagged me to share some advice that I would give to my younger self. Here are some of my favorite pieces of career advice that have been passed on to me over the years that I’ve found helpful:

– Enjoy the process. Life is a series of stages and goals and if you are always looking ahead to the next phase you will miss out on enjoying the present!

– There is a good chance you will ultimately regret decisions that place career before family. You will probably never regret career decisions made for the sake of your family.

– Get a job doing something you enjoy so you can pay others to do the things you do not enjoy. (Or things you are not good at, like landscaping! #Ihaveablackthumb)

– As a working mom, juggling the balls of life will be a constant challenge. Some of the balls will inevitably drop and that’s okay… if they are important, you will pick them back up right away. The other ones can be picked back up if and when the time is right.

The photo at the beginning of this post is from a tulip farm that my girls and I visited last month. We went on a weekday when there weren’t many people there and it was stunning! I hope you are enjoying the spring as much as we are!

11 comments

  1. Beautiful photo!!! And great career advice especially the one about the journey because as a grad student, my advisor reminded me that this work was just the beginning of my career and to remember that. I also agree that you can’t actually juggle all the balls. Something’s gotta give. And that’s ok.

  2. What a gorgeous photo! All great advice and as I get older, I figure that life isn’t perfect and it’s okay if something doesn’t go as plan and just go with plan B,C,D or whatever it takes.

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

    Would love for you to stop by & join TBT Fashion link up.

  3. Incredible advice! #2 especially resonates with me. I decided to put the blog/shop on the back burner a bit and take on a .876 contract so I could save up more for maternity leave. It’s hard not being able to focus on the work I love, but I know it’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

