Tidbits About Me

I recently/semi-recently received Liebster Award nominations from Macarons and Musings, Be Forever Lovely, and Edibles and Travels! Thanks to Caroline, Barb, and Ally for nominating me! 🙂 To prevent this post from becoming too overwhelming, I’m going to pick a few questions from each of their lists to answer:

1.   What is your favorite city?  Portland, Oregon… my birthplace and home. I still can’t believe they made a television series based on our city…

2.  What is your favorite season?  Summer! Can’t beat the long daylight hours and warm weather. I really look forward to farmer’s markets, berry season, and trips to the park with my twin girls.

3.  Your favorite random memory from growing up. Summer vacations in Hawaii at my grandparents’ house… playing in the sugar cane fields behind their house, the smell of the dendrobium orchids my grandmother used to keep, and eating island treats like shave ice, papayas, and guava cake.

4.  Is your happy place on a beach, on a trail in the woods, or on a boat? Why? On a trail in the woods! One of my favorite things about living in the Pacific NW is the abundance of trees and forest trails. I love the fresh air and peacefulness. This photo is one I took during a recent trail run at a nearby nature park.
IMG_4231

5.  Ice cream… best invention, and favorite flavor? Is it possible to have just one favorite ice cream flavor? Cookies and cream, mint chocolate chip, and peppermint are my favorites.

6.  What’s your favorite dish? Pasta! Sushi is a close second. And obviously I have quite a sweet tooth!

7.  What do you look forward to everyday? Spending time with my girls! They are enthusiastic, curious, and fun loving. It’s also really neat to see the bond they share with each other as twins although the flip side is that they know exactly how to push each other’s buttons!
DSC_0897PSE

8.  What is your profession? I am a radiologist. My work days are spent sitting in a dark room in front of multiple computer monitors assessing x-ray, CT, and MRI images for abnormalities. I also perform x-ray guided joint injections.

9.  What do you love most about blogging?  Blogging has been a wonderful way for me to savor the happy/memorable/pretty/fun moments in my life, work on improving my photography skills, and curate my favorite recipes in one place. It’s also been an equally amazing opportunity to connect with others who share similar interests and discover new blogs to read.

Thank you so much for reading my blog! In lieu of nominating specific blogs for this award, I would love for you to comment by answering one or many of the above questions so I can learn a little more about you. Have a great day!

54 comments

    1. Hi Rachel! Yes, it is fun to discover what bloggers do outside of blogging. My job is fairly scientific/technical, so blogging is a fun creative outlet for me. 🙂

  1. I really LOVED getting to know you better in this post! That picture of the girls is so heartwarming, it really makes me wish I had a twin ;). And wow radiologist by day, blogger by night. You really are a super mom! And YES on cookies and cream ice cream!

    1. Thanks, Evani! It would be neat to have a twin! I’ve met a lot of grown up twins who introduce themselves when they see me and the girls around town, and they always say that they love being a twin. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  2. Good call on berry season! I love when fruit is in-season! What a beautiful running trail! Your girls are so cute!! My co worker has twins and you’re right, they are each other’s best friends but also worst enemy ;).

    My favorite season is Spring, minus the allergies. And I don’t mind Summer either. I love the lazy days. Even everyone at the office seems more at ease. Though this summer will most likely be CRAZY for us!

    1. We buy Oregon strawberries by the flat when they are in season… the girls can eat A LOT of strawberries! Yes, you are going to be busy this summer with the little ones… so exciting!

  3. Stephanie! It was such a pleasure reading this and learning more about you! Visiting Portland, Oregon is one of the items on my bucket list. That trail in the woods sounds so amazing and peaceful! We definitely don’t have those in Southern California (at least that I know of). I don’t discriminate with ice cream lol….I love it all! As for your favorite memories growing up, what you look forward to everyday (your beautiful twin girls), your profession, what you love about blogging, etc….you’ve truly found that perfect balance in your life and you are savoring every special moment…be it with your family or just time for yourself. I think it’s so wonderful:)!

    1. Thank you so much, Rita! I hope you make it out to Portland sometime… let me know when you do! And as for perfect balance, I don’t know if I’ve found that yet (I admittedly don’t sleep as much as I probably should!) but I am definitely having fun. 🙂

    1. My grandparents lived in Ewa… same island as Waikiki. How fun that you recently visited! I haven’t actually been back there in many years… hoping to go again one day!

  4. Your answer about summer made me think of those long Northwest summer days. Can you believe they’re almost here? We have farmer’s markets here, but they’re not like the ones in Oregon. 🙂

    My favorite season in autumn — but specifically autumn in New England. I love the leaves changing color, and by that point I’m always ready to get back into jeans and boots. Although right now all I want is warmth!

    1. Yes, the long summer days are the best. I cannot wait for strawberry season! The photos I’ve seen of the New England area during autumn look spectacular!

  5. Thanks for sharing a bit of yourself with us Stephanie! Wish I could visit Portland someday…have been watching Grimm a lot lately!

    BTW Steph, hope you could help me in the Wallis Search for its 1st US BLogger Ambassador. Details for voting are in my latest blog post. Thanks so much in advance!!

    Rebecca
    www,redtagchiclosangeles.com

  6. I’d just love to go hiking the woods out near you. It looks amazingly beautiful! And, I always wondered what kind of physician you were…. now I know! 🙂

    P.S. Your girls look so cute in their matching animal print hoodies. Fashionistas for sure!

    1. Hi Erica! You would love the hiking out here. The girls definitely enjoy clothes/dressing up. Their Halloween costumes have gotten a lot of use this year, and they are accumulating an impressive collection of dollar store jewelry!

  7. yayy congrats on the award! i definitely think that blogging helped me with my photo skills too- i would have never ever learned photoshop if it wasn’t for this blog. It was great learning more about you, Stephanie 🙂

    xo Marlen
    Messages on a Napkin

    1. Thanks, Marlen! Yes, I am slowly trying to improve my photography skills too. I have to admit though… when I’m out and about I usually use my iPhone to take pictures!

    1. Thanks! The photo of the girls was actually one of those “happy mistake” shots that I took while trying to adjust the white balance. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week!

  8. Fun read! As much as I love San Diego there is one thing I wish we had more of…forests! I love hiking through the trees. It’s kind of mysterious. I knew you were a radiologist cause you had mentioned it once before on one of my posts (the gold skull!). I can certainly see how blogging would be a fun, creative outlet for you! My sister is an ER doc here in SD so I get to hear about a lot of interesting medical stories 😉

    1. Hi Kristin! I would gladly trade some of our forests for the fabulous weather you have in SD most of the year! I have no doubt that your sister has a lot of interesting stories… some of the most interesting radiology cases I’ve ever seen were ER patients. Have a wonderful day!

  9. Ohh, I love your little Q&A. Wow a radiologist! That’s intensely awesome 🙂 Yes to cookies & cream ice cream!The photo of your little girls is so cute and precious! Have a great day, Stephanie!

  10. The Pacific NW looks like a place I would love to live in….that’s a tough choice between, a trail in the woods and the beach. I’ve lived by the beach all my life…It would be tough not to live by the coast, I tell you. And I love your childhood memories of playing in a sugar cane field in Hawaii… -Jess L

    1. Hi Jessica! I think you do develop a liking for the types of surroundings you grew up in… I was born and raised in Oregon but lived in the midwest for five years during my 20’s and the cold/snow was really overwhleming for me. Now we are back in Oregon and here to stay! 🙂

    1. Thank you! We definitely plan to take the girls to Hawaii sometime. My grandparents passed away years ago, so I haven’t been there in a long time and it would be great to visit as a family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

